The province of Mantua is situated in the Lombardy region, in Italy, and is is formed out of 70 total comuni. Mantua lies in the southeastern part of Lombardy and is characterized by the many mall towns from the Renaissance period, spread all over the Po Valley. The capital city of the province, Mantua, is surrounded by 3 lakes, Lago Superiore, Lago di Mezzo and Lago Inferiore, making the city seem like a small Venice, but also making it famous for the magnificent scenery. It is also worth mentioning that in the Mantua province, Mantua and Sabbioneta together form another lovely UNESCO World Heritage Site.