The Province of Matera is part of the Basilicata region and it is has a total of 31 comunes. From a geographical point of view, Matera is formed out of a hilly area and a plain area, both offering spectacular views of the region. Among the most visited attractions of the province, worth mentioning are the San Giuliano National Park and the Pantano of Policoro Woods, a beautiful natural reserve. Of course, the "Sassi di Matera" are also an important Italian point of interest, the ancient cave dwelling being visited by many tourists every year.