The Province of Lecce is a province in the Apulia region of Italy, formed out of 97 comuni and having the city of lecce as the province's capital. There are many important Italian tourist monuments here, including the Basilica of Santa Croce in Lecce, the Acaya Castle, the Cathedral of Otranto, the Torre Sant'Emiliano, not far from the Palascìa lighthouse, the magnificen Salandra square in Nardò, towers built in the 16th century and more. Among the modern attractions of Lecce, there's the Otranto seaside, the Torre dell'Orso beach and the Le Puritate beach in Gallipoli, visited by many tourists each year.