The Province of Biella is situated in the province of Piedmont and it exists since 1992. A total of 82 comuni is forming the province and the territory is home for one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, the Sacred Mountain of Oropa, one of Europes' most important religious sites. Valleys, lakes and nature parks characterize this province, but many pittoresque villages make it a pretty site as well. Among the most important settlements, we find Magnano and Candelo, Italian villages enclosed by fortified walls, and Rosazza, the village of stone-cutters, with its traditional stone dwellings.