Begin A New Adventure

Wish to share / learn new things about Italy with a fantastic group of people?

1. Tutto Italy uses cookies and by continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. This notice is in regards to the EU Cookie Law. Learn More.

Bread Not Offered With Oil And Balsamic Vinegar

Discussion in 'Italian Food and Drink' started by ralmom101013, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Here in the states, when you go to an Italian restaurant, especially the big chain ones like Olive Garden and Polcari's, they always give you bread with either balsamic vinegar, oil, or both. I thought that this was an Italian custom (I'm still learning!), but I've recently read that in Italy, they do not actually serve bread with the oil and/or balsamic vinegar, unless it is a restaurant specifically catering to Americans.

For those who have dined out in Italy a lot, did they offer you bread with oil and balsamic vinegar? I wouldn't mind either way, I just found it interesting that they make it seem like an Italian custom in America. It's sort of like Americanized Chinese Food. These things make you wonder how we alter customs around here.

2. Cruets with oil and vinegar ( plain white vinegar more often than watered balsamico ) used to be at any restaurant's table in Italy as part of the furniture.

Then in 2014 European Soviet Union banned restaurant cruets. Now you have to ask the waiter for oil and vinegar bottles.

dStMars likes this.
  3. It depends whether you are North or South and in a rustic place or a commercial one. Usually there is butter and there is always oil, but they don't create dish of oil with balsamic for you in most places as people either do it themselves or don't use it.

Here in the UK they do it, but most places leave the bottles for you to do yourself. Traditionally the bread is used to mop us the pasta sauce or for the soup.