Begin A New Adventure

Wish to share / learn new things about Italy with a fantastic group of people?

1. Tutto Italy uses cookies and by continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. This notice is in regards to the EU Cookie Law. Learn More.

Being Gay In Italy

Discussion in 'General Discussion About Italy' started by Clairelouise84, Apr 22, 2015.

1. I am a lesbian and I am so excited for when my wife and I go, but I am just wondering what the attitudes towards the LBTQIGN community are in Italy. It is a genuine question as I have had no experience and there is very little said about it? Is it a friendly place to be when you are gay?

2. I'm no expert on the matter but I would have thought that Italy would be the same as most countries in the world, there will be some places where it's accepted more than others? The major cities, as in most countries these days are pretty cosmopolitan places, maybe some of the smaller towns it might still get looked at as a bit odd but I certainly wouldn't have thought discrimination would be anything to worry about, not these days anyway?

Clairelouise84 likes this.
  3. I'm sure you'll be alright as long as you keep to the major cities. I think smaller communities will be more religious and intolerant.

4. Not intolerant but they might make up some wrong ideas and become overfriendly.

5. It's a first world country in Europe. I'm sure you'll be fine, unless you go to some super remote and religious area

6. Thank you, I am sure as you say there is nothing to worry about but I know some people and places will be more discriminatory than others because I experience it a lot here in the UK. I just don't want to attract a lot of negativity on my honeymoon.

pwarbi likes this.
  7. I am sure, and whilst I would like to go to the more remote areas, as you say they might not be so accepting so we will go but maybe not hold hands or anything like that.