The Province of Rieti, made out of 73 comuni, is part of the Lazio region, in Italy. The capital city of the province, Rieti, is considered to be the "Centre of Italy", thanks to its geographical position. Founded in 1927, this beautiful province is famous for it's splendid mountainous landscapes, but also for the fact that it became the residence of the Popes. The province of Rieti is characterized by many castles, fortresses and Franciscan sanctuaries, but also by protected natural oases, nature reserves, lakes and valleys. Few people know this, but underground Rieti is the site where ancient Roman viaducts, built in the 3rd Century BC, are still preserved.