The Province of Massa and Carrara, formerly known as the Province of Massa-Carrara until 2009, is a province in the Tuscany region, named after the two main cities in the area. There are 17 comuni forming the province. The territory is well known for its magnificent coastline and for the many tourist resorts in the area. Two nature parks are found here as well, but the main sights of the province are the Cathedral that is Carrara's main attraction and the Malaspina fortress, Massa's most important sight.